Mercury Insurance Group Turns a Bad Situation to Great

Just when you think customer service can’t get any worse, you hear a story that simply surprises you.

Real World Story: A few days ago, one of my clients shared with me the following story:mig_50th_anniversary
“One day, I decided to call Mercury Insurance Group to ask about insurance options. The customer service representative was difficult to understand due to this heavy accent. We were obviously not in sync with our communication, so I asked to speak to a supervisor. He replied, “I’m not going to connect you to the supervisor because of a question like that!” He then HUNG UP!”

My client was so livid that he immediately expressed his displeasure on the Mercury Insurance Facebook fan page. Several hours after his post, my client received a phone call from a regional manager. After listening to my client explain the situation, the manager apologized profusely, gave him free Padre’s baseball tickets, then promised something would be done about the situation. My client was so impressed that he deleted his earlier negative comment on Facebook and added a positive one.

My client went from complaining about Mercury Insurance to bragging about the insurance company in less than 24 hours! Now that’s how you handle an irate customer! Way to go Mercury.

Strategies that Turn it Around:negative-review-art

1. The sooner you respond to a negative comment about your product or service, the better the situation is likely to be resolved.
2. Actively listen to complainants without interruption.
3. Apologize sincerely.
4. Promise to take care of the situation — outline the solution to your client or customer and then do it!

Remember: Customers who complain are doing you a favor by letting you know first hand what isn’t working within your company. And if complaints are treated promptly and correctly, complainants may just become your best advocates.

As a customer or client, have you had a negative experience quickly become positive because a company representative addressed your complaint promptly, efficiently, and beyond your expectations? Please share in the comments below.

14 Responses to “Mercury Insurance Group Turns a Bad Situation to Great”


  1. 1 patterson dental careers May 16, 2013 at 4:14 pm

    Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a data!
    present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this site.

  2. 3 cold calling techniques by stephan schiffman May 21, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    It’s really very complex in this full of activity life to listen news on Television, therefore I simply use the web for that purpose, and take the most up-to-date information.

  3. 4 Ismael July 3, 2013 at 10:16 am

    I was recommended this website via my cousin.
    I’m now not sure whether this submit is written by him as nobody else know such specific approximately my trouble. You’re incredible!
    Thank you!

  4. 5 Harrison July 23, 2013 at 7:11 am

    I just like the valuable information you provide to your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here regularly.

    I’m reasonably sure I’ll be told many new stuff proper right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  5. 6 can tonsil stones make you feel ill August 19, 2013 at 3:09 pm

    Hi, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but
    when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that,
    fantastic blog!

  6. 8 a good man is hard to find dvdrip fr September 29, 2013 at 11:56 am

    I wanted to thank you for this great read!!
    I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked
    to check out new things you post…

  7. 10 used cars January 27, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    Thank yߋu for your wonderful post. Actuɑlly еnjoy
    being on your website. Will you potentially want to consider
    exchanging links with my personal site? I’m just lookinց for
    good partner blogs that provides coոtent.

  8. 12 dogs adoption edmonton May 6, 2014 at 10:17 am

    It’s truly a great and useful piece of info. I am satisfied that you just shared this helpful
    info with us. Please keep us up to date like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

  9. 14 physician August 27, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    I think the admin of this web site is in fact
    working hard in support of his web page, for the reason that
    here every stuff is quality based material.


Leave a Reply

About Barbara

Visit barbarakhozam.com to learn more about Barbara, her program topics, and how you can book Barbara as a guest speaker at your event.

Learn More

Download a Free Chapter from Barbara's Book

Archives

Connect with Barbara

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,537 other followers

Recent Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


