USA Today Article Reveals Surprising Data About Customer Satisfaction

We’ve all been told that bad customer service impacts the bottom line. But, does it? A recent article in USA Today (March 16, 2013) reported on the 9 worst retailers with the worst customer service http://usat.ly/Z5cy4P. The big surprise: several of them continued to increase their ROI even though Customer%20SurveyXSmall(1)[1]they rated the lowest among retailers in customer satisfaction.

Here’s an excerpt from the article:

#4. CVS Caremark — health and personal care stores
• Customer satisfaction score: 75
• 12-month revenue: $123.13 billion
• One-yr. share price change: 15.95%
CVS Caremark (CVS) is one of the nation’s largest businesses in any industry, ranking 18th in the Fortune 500 for 2012. But its size has not brought the company the appreciation of customers. In each of the past three years, the company’s customer satisfaction rating has trailed those of rivals Rite Aid and Walgreens. However, not all customer service indicators reflect as negatively on the company. More than 75% of respondents to a MSN Money/JZ Analytics poll rated customer service at CVS Caremark stores as “excellent” or “good.” Investors might also rate the company’s stock well with shares up 15.6% in the last year.

How is it possible that a company can have poor customer satisfaction, yet high ROI?

Here’s what some people will glean from USA Today’s article’s survey data:

  1. Customer satisfaction data does not impact the bottom line.
  2. If volume is large enough (e.g. a chain of many stores) customer satisfaction becomes irrelevant.

I’m not a statistician, so it doesn’t make sense to me, for example, to give all 3,000 stores in a retail chain the same customer satisfaction rating. From my own personal experience, I’ve received GREAT service at my local Safeway, yet the company as a whole scored at the bottom of the list at #9.

In my opinion, the focus should be on the individual stores, not the sum total of all the stores. We also don’t know on what the judging criteria is based – What questions were asked? Are the questions appropriate for each individual site and for its specific customer demographics?

Another point to consider is that perhaps we, as consumers, are simply lowering the bar on what constitutes great customer service. Bad customer service is so ubiquitous that our expectations are extremely low to the point that even dismal customer service can seem like fantastic treatment.

Real World Story
One of my coaching clients told me the following story:low-expectations[1]
“At my local grocery store, it’s difficult to find any clerks willing to help me find items. The other day, I was looking for precooked pasta for a new lasagna recipe. After searching the store from top to bottom, I finally found a clerk. Before I could finish asking where I could find the precooked lasagna pasta, the clerk pointed to the other side of the store and said, “Aisle 9.” He then quickly walked away, probably afraid that I’d ask him another question. At the time, I thought, “What a nice young man. He actually took the time to help out me, even though he looks busy.”’

Let’s look at this story. What about this experience was she so happy about? The experience was dismal at best. Her expectations for this local grocery store were so low that this recent experience seemed like great customer service in comparison. And how would she rate her experience on a customer satisfaction survey?

Strategies that Turn it Around:

  1. Use customer satisfaction data as one of many tools to gain information about your products or  service.
  2. When comparing your data to others in your market, make sure you’re comparing apples to apples.
  3. Make sure your surveys are specific to your customer demographics: location, culture, housing, income, employment, etc.
  4. If you want a deeper understanding about your data results, ask your customers. And truly listen to their responses. Focus groups comprised of your customers may help you greatly in this regard. Remember, your loyal customers are on your side and want you to succeed.

Remember: Customer satisfaction data is an important tool — only one of many — that may need to be sharpened and upgraded for each location and customer base.

What do YOU think of the statistical data presented in USA Today’s article? Please share your insights below.

34 Responses to “USA Today Article Reveals Surprising Data About Customer Satisfaction”


  1. 1 best buy April 16, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Wonderful article! That is the kind of information that are meant to be shared around the web.
    Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this publish
    upper! Come on over and talk over with my site . Thank you =)

  2. 3 click the next web page May 7, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    Wonderful post however , I was wanting to know if you could write a litte
    more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Kudos!

  3. 5 visit the following internet page May 13, 2013 at 2:41 am

    Would you mind if I quote a couple of your blogposts
    as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog:
    https://barbarakhozam.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/usa-today-article-reveals-surprising-data-about-customer-satisfaction/.
    I’m going to aslo make sure to give you the appropriate anchor text hyperlink using your webpage title: USA Today Article Reveals Surprising Data About Customer Satisfaction | Barbara Khozam’s Blog.
    Be sure to let me know if this is ok with you. With thanks

  4. 7 one way link building service May 15, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    Hi this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if
    blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  5. 8 Violette May 28, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    Hi! My name is Violette and I just desired to say your web site
    is awesome! It really is funny due to the fact I use to have a weblog that
    virtually had an identical website url: http://barbarakhozam.
    wordpress.com/2013/03/21/usa-today-article-reveals-surprising-data-about-customer-satisfaction/ mine was only a
    few characters different. Nonetheless, I’m a big fan of your weblog and if you at any time would like a guest article please email me personally at: violette-pease@gmail.com. I love writing!

  6. 9 Learn More Here June 5, 2013 at 10:28 pm

    Hey your web site url: https://barbarakhozam.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/usa-today-article-reveals-surprising-data-about-customer-satisfaction/
    seems to be redirecting to a completely different internet site
    when I click the homepage button. You may want to
    have this looked at.

  7. 11 Click This Link June 6, 2013 at 11:12 am

    I’ve gone ahead and added a hyperlink back to your internet site from one of my clientele requesting it. I have used your web page URL: https://barbarakhozam.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/usa-today-article-reveals-surprising-data-about-customer-satisfaction/ and blog title: USA Today Article Reveals Surprising Data About Customer Satisfaction | Barbara Khozam’s Blog to assure you get the correct anchor
    text. If you woud like to check out where your hyperlink has
    been placed, please e mail me at: eunice-conklin@gmail.com.
    Thanks a lot

  8. 12 http://PREMIOSYCERTAMENESLAPALMA.ORG July 2, 2013 at 8:29 pm

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism
    or copyright violation? My website has a lot of exclusive content
    I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • 13 bnkhozam July 2, 2013 at 8:56 pm

      Hi Stewart, great question. That’s always the risk in posting content on the internet. I can only hope that whoever uses my content refers it back to me somehow. And if not, I try to be happy that my content is getting noticed. Hope that helps! Barbara

  9. 14 buisness apps for phones July 18, 2013 at 6:37 pm

    Its not my first time to visit this site, i am visiting this website dailly and take fastidious
    information from here everyday.

  10. 16 business class flights to bangkok from london July 19, 2013 at 3:20 pm

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally,
    it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on
    just posting videos to your blog when you could be
    giving us something informative to read?

  11. 18 webpage September 10, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Needed to write you the bit of observation so as to say
    thank you once again over the nice strategie you’ve contributed on
    this website. It is quite wonderfully open-handed of you giving publicly exactly what a few individuals could possibly have supplied for an e book to get some profit for themselves, notably considering the fact that you might
    have tried it if you wanted. These tricks as well acted to provide
    a great way to comprehend other individuals have similar fervor really like
    my own to figure out very much more with respect to this
    matter. I believe there are some more fun situations ahead
    for many who find out your site.

  12. 19 Charlene September 19, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and
    without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the
    head. The problem is something too few men
    and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy that I came across this during my
    hunt for something concerning this.

  13. 21 strony www December 28, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    Incredible points. Solid reasons. Maintain the amazing effort.

    This particular info is invaluable.
    Where can one learn more?

  14. 23 fribblers March 30, 2014 at 1:12 am

    Awesome! Its really amazing piece of writing, I have got much clear idea on the topic of from this article.

  15. 24 lecturas adicionales April 16, 2014 at 8:47 pm

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you really realize
    what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also talk over with my web site =).
    We will have a hyperlink trade agreement among us

  16. 25 depilacja laserowa Radom April 23, 2014 at 9:25 am

    Incredible points. Great questions. Keep up the amazing work.

    This valuable information is worth everyone’s attention.
    Where do I find out more?

  17. 27 web page May 6, 2014 at 3:31 am

    Touche. Solid web page points. Sustain the good
    work.

    This kind of information web page is invaluable. When can
    I find out more?

  18. 29 best offers for credit card rewards May 18, 2014 at 11:45 am

    I’m not sure why but this site iis loading very slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  19. 30 Jamal June 18, 2014 at 2:26 pm

    It’s not my first time to visit this web page, i am visiting this website dailly and
    get fastidious data from here daily.

  20. 32 capsules June 27, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your website provided us with helpful information to work on. You have done an impressive process and our entire group will likely be grateful to you.

  21. 34 geburtstagswunsche zum 18 geburtstag February 17, 2016 at 10:42 pm

    What’s up to every one, because I am genuinely keen of reading
    this web site’s post to be updated regularly.
    It contains nice information.


Leave a Reply

About Barbara

Visit barbarakhozam.com to learn more about Barbara, her program topics, and how you can book Barbara as a guest speaker at your event.

Learn More

Download a Free Chapter from Barbara's Book

Archives

Connect with Barbara

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,535 other followers

Recent Tweets


